Dear diary,

A friend of mine share this really great article on Facebook the other day called:  The Mistake I Made with my Grieving Friend by Celeste Headlee.  Enjoy it here.

I feel like my husband makes this same “mistake” with me when I share my feelings about loosing my father last year.  He tries to help by telling me about his feelings when that happened to him, when all I really wanted him to do was just listen to me and acknowledge my feelings.  In anger, I have told him:  “hey I am not talking about you here, please don’t turn this around like that”!  Not saying that his emotions and experiences are any less important, but at the time, I really needed him to be focusing on me.

I know, I too, have done this in the past.  I felt like I was “connecting” with who was talking to me and had no idea that I was just uncomfortable with the topic at hand.  Now that I understand what it is like to grieve, I feel I can also better understand how to be more empathic to others by being a better listener.

Sometimes you have to come full circle to connect.

~an enlightened, american, Vegan

 

 

Leave a comment